Sunday December 18, 2016

Hi guys.

I felt pretty crappy all day. I had, and still have, this constant gagging feeling in my throat. I’m not currently sick, I don’t have anything stuck in my throat, it’s just there. Nothing I do will make it stop. The only semi-relief I get is by laying on my side.

We did some cleaning up today but not a whole lot since I wasn’t feeling well. So I guess that’s what we’ll do tomorrow.

This week’s recipe is for all my Jewish friends out there! There is no better way to spend Hanukkah than eating latkes. I have my own recipe so I’m going to type it out for you. I apologize in advance, some ingredients don’t have exact measurements. I eyeball them according to the bowl I’m using.

Potato Latkes for Hanukkah

  • 2 containers of dried hash browns (sold in a pack of 8 at Costco)
  • 2 eggs
  • Garlic salt
  • Dried onions
  • Oil for frying
  1. Heat griddle to high temperature and add just enough oil to fry.
  2. Open both containers of hash browns. Fill one container to the fill line with hot water. Let sit until the potatoes absorb the water. Pour hash brown containers into a mixing bowl.
  3. Add eggs, garlic salt (to taste), and dried onions (to taste). Mix until combined.
  4. Use a scoop to scoop mixture into oil. Be careful as the oil may splatter.
  5. Fry potatoes until crispy on bottom, then flip. Fry other side until crispy.
  6. Place on paper towels to remove excess oil.
  7. Enjoy!

Most people top their latkes with either sugar, applesauce, or sour cream. So try them or add your own twist.

Have a good week.

 

Leave a Reply

